Borrowing Items from Park
Who may borrow Park Library materials?
Faculty, students, and staff of The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill may borrow circulating materials upon presentation of their campus identification card (UNC One Card).
Non-affiliated persons, students and faculty from other universities, residents of North Carolina, members of the General Alumni Association, and Friends of the Library may borrow materials by registering at Davis Library (or Law or Health Sciences Libraries). See UNC’s main Borrowing & Circulation page for information about fees and borrowing privileges.
How long may I keep books & stuff?
- Most books may be borrowed for 30 days.
- Reserve books may be borrowed for 2 hours at a time.
- Earphones may be borrowed until the library closes.
- DVDs, audio CDs, and other AV material may be borrowed for 3 days.
- Equipment (chargers, clickers, flip cameras) loan periods vary from 2 hours to 2 days.
- Theses and dissertations may be borrowed for 3 days.
- Reference material may only be used in the Park Library.
- Journals and newspapers may only be used in the Park Library.
How many items may I borrow?
- Books: no limits — as many as you want!
- DVDs, videos, and other AV items: up to 3 DVDs or 3 VHS at a time.
- Reserve items: 3 at a time.
- Find Renew Books: My Library at the top right of every catalog page.
- Renew items online on or before their due dates to avoid overdue fines!
In the Park Library
- Park Library books may be renewed at the Park Library.
- Other UNC Library books should be renewed at the library from which the book was borrowed (or renew them online from anywhere).
- Park Library Reserve items can only be renewed in person at the Park Library.
- If Park Library book is currently checked out, you may “recall” books. That’s where we ask the person who has it to return it so you can check it out.
Click on the Request icon to recall a book that is currently checked out.
- Recalled books may have adjusted due dates, reducing the original loan period. Recalled items will incur a recall fine of $.50 per day each day past the new due date without a grace period.
The recall fine is applied in addition to regular overdue fines.
What happens if you don’t return materials on time? Fines!
Library patrons are expected to return or renew items by their due dates. Due dates are set at the time of checkout, renewal, or recall. Patrons may confirm due dates at any time and renew items online via My Library. The library sends courtesy reminders by email but does not recommend relying solely on email reminders to keep track of due dates
- Fines are waived if the book is returned within the grace period (13 days for faculty & EHRA non-faculty, 3 days for students, SHRA staff, and others) AND the item has not been recalled.
- Fine types include:
- Library books: $.50 per day, per item; up to $25.00 maximum per item.
- Equipment (clickers, chargers, iPads, etc.): $30 per hour or partial hour.
- DVDs, audio CDs, and other AV material: $1 per day.
- Reserve items: $1.00 per hour per item; up to $50.00 maximum per item.
- There is no grace period for equipment.
Recalled Book Fines
- Additional fines apply to books that have been recalled for another borrower. Overdue recalled items accrue an additional $0.50 per item per day.
- There is no grace period for recalled items; fines begin accruing as soon as the book is overdue. The addition of the recall fine can more than double the total fine charged.
Lost Book Charges
- Patrons are responsible for books that they have borrowed, and will be fined for lost books. Books are automatically declared lost when 42 days past due.
- Lost book fees are $100 ($75 replacement fee; $25 processing fee). The maximum regular overdue fine for a lost book is $25 if the patron returns the book after it goes into lost status. If the book was recalled, fines will be greater.
- A patron who does not return a lost book will be expected to pay the replacement charge of $100. If the actual replacement cost exceeds $100, the fee will be the replacement cost plus a $25 processing fee.
Damaged Book Charges
- Patrons are responsible for books that they have borrowed and will be charged for damage to books. The minimum damaged book charge is $7.50. The maximum charge will be for the replacement fee of the book.
- Patrons should not dog-ear pages or stick any adhesive materials in library books. Patrons may be charged for highlighting, underlining or writing in library books, or for placing post-it notes or other adhesive markers in books. The library charges a $0.25 removal fee for each post-it or adhesive left in books that are returned.
- When books have been damaged beyond repair or are known to be irretrievably lost then patrons may contact the library to discuss replacing the books for a processing fee of $25, in lieu of paying the $100 fee.
- Replacement copies may be subject to an additional recall fine if the item being replaced is overdue and was recalled by another borrower prior to the due date. Replacement copies must be new books and must be the same edition as the lost items, or newer. Used copies are not acceptable replacements; please contact the Billing Supervisor if a book is out of print. Hardcover books are preferred but paperbacks are acceptable.
- Lost or damaged Reserve Books: 7 days after due date, patrons are billed replacement cost of $125.00 ($100 replacement plus $25.00 processing.)
- Lost or damaged Videos, DVDs, and other AV material: $115 per item.
- Pay Park Library fines at the Park Library. Other fines must be paid at the respective library.
- Typically fines accrued by students are transferred to the Cashier’s Office the next business day (or, within a few days) and should be paid in person at the Cashier’s Office or online (for students). If you have questions about paying your fines, please contact Stephanie.
Appealing a Fine
- Fine appeal should be submitted to the library which owns the overdue or lost item; the owning library is identified in the email or paper notice sent to inform you of the fine. If you are appealing charges owed on items from multiple libraries, you will need to submit a separate appeal to each of those libraries. To appeal a fine, please use our online appeal form.
- If you have questions or concerns about a charge on your account please contact the library directly before submitting a fine appeal. If a book you have already returned is still listed as checked out on your account more than one business day after you returned it, please contact the library immediately to request a search, rather than submitting a fine appeal.
- Books may be returned to any library on campus.
- Specialty items such as media, equipment and course reserves materials should be returned to the library where they were checked out.
- Park Library books may also be returned by mail. Applicable fines will be charged.
- Mail items to:
Carroll Hall, CB#3365
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC 27514-3365
Please review other Park Library policies.
effective June 24, 2010; edited 10/15/19.